Make your own free website on

Children's Grades

Jigoro Kano Sensei & Judo
Children & Aiki-Judo
Benefits of Aiki-Judo
Stephen Sensei
Children's Grades
Dojo Etiquette

Patiently waiting in Seiza

Aiki-Judo has a kyu-dan system similar to other martial arts such as Karate and Aikido. The kyu (grade) levels are coloured belts and represent new and intermediate level students and the dan (degree) levels are black belts, red and white belts or red belts and represent various advanced practitioner levels. The chart below is the children's belt system used at the Hiryukan.



Belt Colour

New student (mukyu)


11th kyu        (juikkyu)




10th  kyu       (jukyu)






9th  kyu        (kukyu)








8th kyu         (hachikyu)


7th kyu         (shichikyu)




6th kyu         (rokkyu)


5th kyu         (gokyu)




4th kyu         (yonkyu)


3rd kyu         (sankyu)




2nd kyu         (nikyu)


1st kyu           (ikkyu)


1st dan           (shodan)


2nd dan         (nidan)


3rd dan         (sandan)


4th dan         (yondan)


5th dan         (godan)


6th dan         (rokudan)







7th dan         (nanadan)







8th dan         (hachidan)







9th dan         (kudan)



10th dan        (judan)